Music

I was the Drumline Captain at my high school. Meaning that I drummed a lot, and that I led other people in drumming a lot, and that I made a lot of noise and a lot of sound and, yes, some music too.

So then came the question for college: would I major in music and be doomed to making only a little bit of moneys teaching other kids how to bang on stuff and make cool sounds, or would I follow the path I’d set for myself when I wrote a fan fiction (had I known that’s what it was at the time I certainly would have stopped myself) in 4th grade about Diablo?

I chose the ladder and hopefully things will pan out, though everyone knows the hardships of a writer, and everyone knows they aren’t much more prosperous than a musician.

Thanks, Stephen King, for making every one of your strange novels about a writer. Now every psychotic guy who’s going to write for a living has to worry about getting locked up and tortured, killer clowns, alien artifacts buried in the ground, vampires taking over whole cities, and any other score of weird ideas you’ve plugged them into.

~ by Jon C. Forisha on December 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
