An Honest Lie

I write stories. It’s fun. It feels natural. I hope it makes me enough money to live, because that would be absolutely fantastic.

So I’ve been writing more seriously ever since I entered the big bad world of College. I’ve been sending stories off in different places, editing them more closely, slowing down my writing a bit (though the week that I wrote four stories in four days is an exception to that rule, heh…) and focusing on the important parts of it all.

I wrote this one post-apocalyptic story (not cliche, I promise!) about a thief aboard an airship that serves the last society of pompous “nobles” left on the ravaged earth. I thought it was awesome, easily one of my best pieces (I’ve been writing stories for fun since 4th grade). I sent it off to maybe 3 or 4 different SF/F publishing websites, and they all said it didn’t feel right.

I was saddened by this, but held my post-apocalyptic baby close.

I kept looking for publishing information, and came across a call for submissions from a small Dallas publishing company called Open Heart Publishing. Sounded interesting enough, so I looked at the info for their first ever anthology, called An Honest Lie.

The prompt was basically a listing of things they wanted, involving lies and kids and childhood and fun and adventure and whatnot.

So, in roughly one afternoon, I wrote a story about a kid trying to catch a giant jellyfish.

Except that it’s more than that; it’s not a monster story. To say it’s a monster story is to say that the original Night of the Living Dead is just a zombie story (it’s more! It’s the youth of the nation (zombies) rising up and spreading their plague, forcing change upon those who are perfectly fine with the way things are! (everyone else)).

So I finished it, sent it off, and a few months later was delighted with a phone call from the publisher himself (an excitable guy who’s a born salesman if ever I’ve met one – which is to say that he’s a splendid ally in this dog-eat-dog world of publishing) saying that he loved my story and that they’d love to use it.

I got a big packet, we talked specifics, yadda-yadda, then we all met up at an Irish pub, where I drank water much to the chagrin of my table-mates.

They all seem like nice people, and this certainly sounds like a wonderful opportunity (published at 19 years old has a nice ring to it, methinks, even if it’s not Harlan Ellison’s sale of a story to the Cleveland News at a ripe 15 years of age), and I’m delighted to be a part of it.

And thus, if you happen to be reading this and happen to be liking the style in which I string these words together, you should certainly go on over to http://anhonestliespeaks.blogspot.com/ and check it out.

And then, when the book comes out in September/October, you should most certainly open your checkbook and voraciously write check after check, sprinkling a healthy amount of zeroes wherever and whenever you think it appropriate (and trust me, you’ll think it appropriate quite often once you witness some of our “readings”).

Stay tuned, because more on the subject is certainly to follow.

~ by Jon C. Forisha on July 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
