Little House by the Train Tracks

It’s been a little over a month since my last blog entry. I’m sorry, blog; it’s not that I hate you – far from it! – it’s just that between working a real job and trying to meet people, my blogging habits took a hit.

Oh, and I got a new camera.

The simple truth of the matter is that blogging is a lot more natural when traveling, or when sitting around twiddling your thumbs. It’s ironic, sure, because in that time you’d expect to have nothing to say, but that’s how it goes.

In the month since I last blogged, quite a few things have changed. Our duplex feels like a home now, we have furniture and stuff, we met some people, and train time is still the best time. I’ve recently discovered that taking a shower during train time is especially thrilling, as the train makes the tub vibrate like the house is a rocketship about to blast off.

Almost everyone we’ve met so far has been through the internet. I think the internet is universal and essential enough to our generation that meeting strangers through its use is no longer the surefire homicide that it maybe used to be. We’ve both posted on Craigslist and on Reddit, and met an assortment of people, most of them pretty normal folks. There was that one guy I jammed with one night who made weird faces and became incredibly awkward right before he left, as if he were a teenage boy trying to court me, the hottest chick in school. But aside from him, everyone’s been cool.

We frequented several Eastside bars, going to a Thursday night trivia several weeks in a row, and we recorded a bunch of songs that Brit wrote, because for some reason he’s become a songwriting machine that won’t stop until every song is written. Yeah, that song you’ve been thinking about? He’s going to steal it from you and then write it.

On that note, go here and listen to our lo-fi recordings. What they lack in fanciness they more than make up for in sheer sex appeal.

Halloween came and went and we spent the whole month watching all kinds of horror movies. One of the most interesting was Shiver, which I didn’t know existed before watching it. I don’t like its cover, but the movie itself (and especially the lead) is quite good. Two days before Halloween, I went with one of the guys I met via Craigslist to a party nearby and conversed with people. I went as Guy With Gaping Neck Wound because my original idea (Teen Wolf) was foiled due to Spirit’s inept werewolf supply (idea: I’m going to rate Halloween stores based solely on their werewolf supplies). A 32 year-old (she told us) Colombian girl working as a pediatrician at Vanderbilt’s medical center slipped me her number after 1) learning I was a decade younger than her and 2) telling me she hated Nashville. I have not called her.

The day before Halloween, I went to a twelve-hour horror movie marathon at the cool kid theater, the Belcourt. I met other horror fans there and had a pretty good time watching four movies in a row, but once number four was over, I had to throw in the towel. My body demanded that I use it in some way, and once my eyes began to detach themselves from my head, I had to leave. The marathon was seven movies for $15, so I got my money’s worth. All four were entertaining, but the best of the bunch was Night of the Creeps, which I vaguely remember seeing when I was ten or so. Alien parasites create zombies through the use of brain-harvesting leeches. It’s wonderful.

On the Big Day Itself, I was again a Man With a Gaping Neck Wound and paraded around Five Points (East Nashville’s epicenter) with people I met via trivia. There was a Thriller flash mob in the street, there was a male Snooki, and there was a female Darth Vader in lingerie. Earlier in the evening, though, right after our four trick-or-treaters came by, I rode my bike amongst the costumed.

It was a nice bike ride despite the cold, and the second Halloween in a row that I’ve gone bike riding. Maybe it’ll become a tradition. I rode down all the heavily populated streets that I definitely couldn’t drive down (there were a lot of them), and eventually got kind of lost. At that point I expected (and kind of hoped for) the obligatory Halloween killer to appear, but there was none.

As before mentioned, I got a new camera. It’s this one, and I love it dearly. It takes very nice pictures and its video is a gazillion times better than my old camera, and even that was pretty spiffy. So, naturally, I wanted to shoot some short films, but this time around I don’t have friends at my disposal to force into parts. I decided to use it as another way to try to meet people, and have thus made contact with several actors around the city. Hopefully good will come from it. I’ve got two shorts already written and am working on a feature length script that, hoping against hope, will get made in a year’s time. Shooting on weekends and finding people that are fine with working for free, it shouldn’t be an issue!

Work has been good. I’m finally adjusting to the 8-5 schedule I have, and my job is varied enough that I rarely get bored. This last week I had to drive two hours to Jackson, TN, where the original corporate office is. I rode around in a golf cart and measured things, then had a yummy lunch and drove back.

All kinds of boring grown-up things have happened, too. We had to pay our bills. I jousted with my bank’s fabulously inept customer service. I had to find a dentist (he’s pretty cool) to check out a tooth that randomly started hurting (he says it’s nothing and hopefully he’s right).  The neighbor’s cat left a beheaded mouse on our doorstep, which was then visibly slimed over by a large slug, who happily sat only a foot away relishing the taste.

Nashville continues to be an interesting change to me. I scraped ice off of my car this morning before driving to work. It wasn’t super thick ice, but it was thicker than I would have expected for early November. The fall here is gorgeous, and it actually lasts for longer than a week. One of my co-workers saw Ben Folds during lunch one day. The dentist informed me that this is, statistically, the worst place in the country for allergies. They have now caught up to me and my stuffy nose agrees with his assessment. Nashville is considered the south while Texas is not – a fact that continues to amuse me. It only further proves that Texas is kind of its own entity, existing in almost the direct central south of the country and yet belonging to no one’s geographical category.

It’s interesting working in a corporate setting and yet still harboring the kinds of grandiose ambitions that I do. Many people have been with the company for many years, as is true with most stable businesses. Did they dream of doing what they do? Or do they still strive to fulfill those dreams in their off-time? I’ve always wanted to achieve ridiculously unlikely things and always had lofty goals (Author! Studio musician! Screenwriter! Director!), and I can’t imagine going through day-to-day activities without that creative, sometimes subconscious, drive. Perhaps other people feel that drive when it comes to entrepreneurial pursuits, or underwater basket weaving.

So there you have it. A brief recap of the past month of a Texan’s life in Tennessee. There are other things, of course, but this is the gist of it. As we become ever more comfortable in our Little House by the Train Tracks, you should come visit.

 

 

~ by Jon C. Forisha on November 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
