Still Kicking

Friday brought storms to Nashville, including the first really big one that I’ve yet experienced since moving here five months ago. I was sitting at work, in a room frighteningly devoid of windows, and people kept walking by discussing our impending doom. Color me surprised, since weren’t these long-time Nashvillians and native Tennesseeans supposed to be used to this kind of stuff? Sure, we got storms in Texas, but most of the time tornadoes didn’t come too close.

So it was that following my lunch time (spent reading Anthony Kiedis’s nutso autobiography Scar Tissue), I found myself to be one of only a handful of people in the office. We all decided we should probably go home, so I did. Once out in the twinkling sunshine (does the sun twinkle?), I was colored yet more surprised. The sun was bright and the clouds were happy – not menacing like I’d been promised. I got home three hours before I normally would, and decided to sit on the back porch and play my dulcimer. The wind picked up considerably – a result, I’m sure, of my dulcimer skills.

Then I went upstairs and recorded what I was playing, which then came to include keyboard, djembe, shaker, and tambourine, and before long it was a big weird thing that I nevertheless enjoy, but which isn’t at all the beginning-of-the-movie song that I had intended. In the middle of my recording this, though, with big headphones over my ears, I noticed that the world outside of my room was getting louder. A glance outside convinced me to turn off my computer and snap some pictures of the insanity coming down. Even though the hail only lasted a few minutes, it was enough to break the neighbor’s upstairs window and briefly convince me that the same may happen to us. It, thankfully, did not (probably also a direct result of my dulcimer skills).

The storms continued north, where they wreaked considerably more havoc, and I got dressed up and went to a swanky fundraiser in Franklin, courtesy of my company. There were women (in circus attire!) handing out free cigars, an open bar, a four-course meal, copious amounts of wine, four bouts of boxing in a tiny boxing ring, and some less-than-stellar country musicians. It was a fun time accentuated by knowing that most of the other party-goers were people I otherwise wouldn’t have much contact with – the kinds of people throwing down thousands for signed guitars and week-long vacations to extravagant locations. Sure, they’re older and who knows what kinds of riches I’ll wiggle my way into, but most of them got rich by delving into vague things like “financing”. Does anyone even know what financing entails? We can stop pretending, people.

Saturday brought with it a road trip to and from Athens, Alabama, with JB, the owner and operator of this fine website. We drove to a plant nursery run by a jolly old guy, took a lot of pictures and videos of trees of various sizes, and came back just in time to chow down on delicious burgers. The pictures and videos are to be used for JB’s business, and hopefully they’ll be contributing greatly to the sale of fine plants of all varieties.

Today consisted of auditioning a Vanderbilt student for another upcoming short film of mine and watching a lot of stuff. Despite Vandy being on lockdown for Spring Break and none of us having a physical copy of the script, the audition went well, and I’m excited to get working on that project. Then Andrew came over and we watched American Graffiti, one of those much-revered movies that I’d somehow never seen, so today that was corrected. The fact that George Lucas made that and the Star Wars movies sort of blows my mind, but there are certainly similarities (pod racers vs. hot rod races; Harrison Ford being charming). A recent New York Times interview had Lucas saying that he planned to stop being involved in huge studio movies and to focus on small indie stuff, which would mean a return to his days of American Graffiti. I’m okay with that.

After JB came to retrieve his pictures and video, he convinced us to watch a documentary called The Parking Lot Movie. It was excellent. It followed the employees of a parking lot in Charlottesville, Virginia, and basically just had them talk about everything that had to do with their seemingly-meaningless job. The way their youthful aimlessness and casually philosophical thoughts were captured was really great, since the things they said and the way they thought of their jobs and lives at that moment made a lot of sense to me. They were invariably humanities-minded, which made for a lot of great quotes. I recommend it.

And, finally, my Kickstarter project is still chugging along. I have 60% of my funding with 14 days to go. If I reach my goal, you won’t be sorry. In fact, you’ll be delighted and pleased! Share it with every human you’ve ever heard of.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1612161914/employment

~ by Jon C. Forisha on March 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
